DIY Holiday

I will be the first to admit that I’m not crazy about the holidays.  Sure, I enjoy a holiday gathering here and there and the lights all around Columbus Circle are pretty, but the imposed cheer can get to you – especially when it starts in early November.  My favorite thing about this time of year are the small gifts:  my colleague who makes and decorates beautiful gingerbread cookies each year, the lovely homemade candy that I wrote about in my last post, and the random and wonderful things my husband brings home from his work colleagues:  olive oil, clementines and even a fancy bottle of gin.

Between our colleagues, neighbors and teachers, there are a lot of people to remember this season and the challenge is to make something either beautiful or delicious .   Our go-to gifts are biscotti and truffles, but this year I decided to go in a different direction.  I love forcing bulbs in the winter, but since buying 50 amaryllis bulbs would exceed our budget, I decided to go with paperwhites – which are a nice reminder of spring in the middle of winter.  Paperwhite bulbs + mason jars + colorful stones = fun Saturday afternoon with our daughters.   For what child doesn’t love to put rocks in jars?

Because paperwhites don’t require chilling in order to bloom and can grow without soil, they are the perfect choice for a project like this.  Just fill the jar 3/4 full with stones, add the bulb, and secure with the jar-top:

Dress with raffia, greenery and instructions and voilà: Happy Holidays!

, , ,

  1. #1 by Val on December 24, 2011 - 9:50 am

    I love this idea, thanks for sharing

  2. #2 by Ari on December 24, 2011 - 10:37 am

    Those tasty truffles were the perfect Christmas Eve breakfast.

    • #3 by Yoltzi on December 25, 2011 - 8:12 am

      I prefer gin in a fancy bottle.

  3. #4 by Karyn on December 28, 2011 - 11:26 pm

    Gorgeous! Well done 🙂

  4. #5 by Miranda on December 29, 2011 - 1:52 pm

    We did this for our teachers this year but didn’t use the Mason jars. I like them better. You need something with the weight of a jar at the base because these bulbs grow tall and tend to tip over if not supported properly. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

