CSA challenge: braising greens out the hoo-ha.

Thursday is CSA day, when we pick up a gigantic load of vegetables and the anxiety starts to mount.  How to get through it all?   While we used to make a weekly grocery list of what we needed, we now make a list of what we have and then try to think of how we can eat it all up before the following Thursday.  It’s a vicious cycle, but one we love.  Here is a list of the weekly take, with some ideas of how we might use it.  But I would love to hear yours, we are in need of some inspiration!

  • 1 quart of potatoes (spanish tortilla or side of roasted potatoes, no rush on these – they last forever)
  • 6 Roma tomatoes (pizza sauce? caprese salad, oven dried or tomato confit)
  • 1 quart beefsteak tomatoes (sandwiches! pasta sauce)
  • Broccoli Rabe (easy, orecchiette with sausage and broccoli rabe)
  • Fennel (shave it and put it in a salad – see below)
  • Big bag of Arugula – salad
  • Big bag of Salad greens – duh.
  • Broccoli – good for the kids!
  • Cilantro – planning to use for Soto Ayam (recipe soon!)
  • Big bag of kale – I could eat kale every day, braised, sauteéd, whatever.
  • Head of Garlic  – braise with kale
  • 1 onion – add to other onions in onion bowl
  • Gigantic amount of braising greens, mostly chard – looks like a lot of chicken breast with greens coming our way.
  • Pears – I love you pears, so delicious and nothing to do.

So from here, we start to compose our meals for the next week and here is where we need the help.  Send me your ideas and I’ll post what we make and the recipes.  Our biggest challenge is the chard.  What else to do with it besides melting it down with some garlic? I know you know.  Please tell me!

Coming soon: Yogurt or How I lost my yojo and am trying to get it back.

, ,

  1. #1 by Lisa on October 1, 2010 - 1:17 pm

    How about roasted kale?
    You could also make a veggie gratin with the fennel, tomatoes, and potatoes.

  2. #2 by Karyn on October 1, 2010 - 3:19 pm

    I love the list! Tomorrow is our CSA day, and Luke is home right now roasting up all the cauliflower, japanese eggplant, and red peppers we didn’t get to yet this week.

    I like to cut up ribbons of greens and add them to instant miso soup when I’m in a hurry, or cook them down like you describe above and then make into a white bean soup with onions.

    We’ve had a bunch of tomatoes this year as well, and lately I’ve been slicing off a “lid” from the top, scooping out the inside flesh, mixing the scooped-out parts with finely chopped greens and rice or breadcrumbs and whatever kind of seasoning you’re in the mood for, stuffing it all back inside the hollowed-out tomato, and baking. It’s tasty and fun to eat.

    I can’t wait for your Soto Ayam post!

    • #3 by domaphile on October 2, 2010 - 10:00 pm

      Great ideas! I’m off to stuff my tomatoes! With Chard! Thanks for the inspiration, Karyn.

  3. #4 by Jennifer on October 2, 2010 - 9:23 am

    Chard…
    I had a bizarre anxiety dream last night about being back in the kitchen at Jerry’s and not having done my prep for the evening shift. As I was setting up a strange person named Sofia (? I think) wanted to know when she and 2 others could come visit us in the country for “3 days and 3 nights”. Weird, right?

    But any way, back to chard…
    -An essential ingredient in butternut squash lasagna
    – makes a great ravioli filling with an assertive cheese like pecorino
    – in soup
    – braised Ethiopian style, with berber and a hint of tomato
    – composts VERY easily

    • #5 by domaphile on October 2, 2010 - 10:02 pm

      I just hope “Sofia” isn’t planning to come for Sheep and Wool! Speaking of, should we braise some greens Ethiopian style that weekend? And, of course, the lasagna – how could I forget! We now have some cooking to do! xox

      • #6 by Jennifer on October 3, 2010 - 11:31 am

        I told “Sofia” to take a hike.
        Now if I could just find some decent Ethiopian recipes…

  4. #7 by Ari on October 3, 2010 - 10:22 am

    I like Kale Pesto.

    • #8 by domaphile on October 4, 2010 - 12:59 pm

      Really? I never new. Will try it.
      Thanks!

  5. #9 by vegan lasagna on January 18, 2012 - 3:08 pm

    this looks very delicious . i`m sure my wife will love it as i plan to make that for the weekend dinner. thanks

Leave a Reply

